Handy

22 Jun

Big Girl Takes Cover

A few truths:

A – My urban homestead is not the ideal location for a vegetable garden.

B – I am almost notorious for my ability to kill plants.

C – I’m determined to overcome both A and B.

My solution is to start small and be smart about what I try to grow.  So I reclaimed a pot from something or other that lost the will to live after spending last summer at my house and made it home for my Big Girl.  Seriously, that’s her name.  I know that right now she doesn’t look so big but I’m hopeful that she’ll grow out of that.

Naturally, about two weeks after she made herself at home at Exit 51, we proceeded to get hit with a freakishly long wet spell.  It rained for the better part of ten days.  So I got worried.  Because even though Big Girl needs rain to grow, she doesn’t know how to swim.

Not having anywhere to put her to keep her out of the rain, the best thing I could do was channel my inner MacGyver.  I’m not known for being especially handy but seriously, if he can use a paperclip and chewing gum to disarm a bomb then I could most certainly come up with something to keep the tomato plant from drowning.

I had bought a cage, optimistic that she will live up to her name and grow to be big and in need of support.  I also had a crappy umbrella rattling around in the trunk of my car.  I know I should have gotten rid of it long ago but you just never know when you’re going to need one.  Like when you want to keep your Big Girl dry.

I can only imagine how crazy I looked standing over her in the pouring rain trying to rig everything together.  But the top of the cage rested perfectly into slots on the bottom of the runner (that piece that slides up and down to raise or lower your bumbershoot) and I was able to secure the umbrella to the side of the cage.

It did not look pretty but it worked.  Big Girl seems to have survived the monsoon.  She has new leaves coming in and hasn’t showed any signs of root rot.  Hopefully before too long we’ll need that cage to keep her from toppling over from the weight of all those tomatoes. Until then, I’m holding off on getting rid of that busted up umbrella.  Because you just never know when Mother Nature is going to force you into MacGyver mode.

2 Responses to “Handy”

  1. Mom 29 June 2009 at 9:58 am #

    I have all the confidence in you that “Big Girl” will produce some good tomatoes for you! The glass is half full!

  2. pmf1852 29 June 2009 at 10:19 am #

    Sadly, Big Girl is not doing so well. I think all the rain we got this spring really did her in. There’s always a chance that some good strong sun might turn things around but right now it looks like any tomatoes we eat this summer will be from the market.

Leave a Reply

