Mary Had A Little Lamb

26 Aug

Lamb is one of those ingredients that I have no luck with.  I don’t know if it’s the taste or the texture or that I’m just not preparing it right but I have yet to fix lamb at home and rave about it.  Not that I’m a quitter or anything but I don’t think lamb is my thing.  I’ve tried twice. Twice I’ve been disappointed.

The first lamb experiment came just after SFC and I got married.  It was two weeks after the wedding.  He had Army training over the weekend so I thought I’d surprise him with lamb chops when he got home.  I was very excited.  But they just weren’t what I was expecting.  The taste was a little gamey compared to beef, and the texture was just all wrong.  It doesn’t help that SFC and I do not agree that medium rare is done.  It was too done and too dry.  That was also the night that I found out SFC would be heading overseas with the Army.  So really, my first experience with lamb did not hold any good memories.

I don’t know why, but I decided to give it another try.  Quick Lamb Stew is what the recipe promised.  What I got out of it was Quick and it was Stew-like.  But it’s the Lamb part is where it all went wrong.  Gamey and Chewy were back.  They had taken over the Stew.  I think SFC is on his own to finish off those leftovers.  I don’t want anything to do with them.

So I don’t know, maybe lamb is one of those things that I might steal a taste of off someone else’s plate at a restaurant.  But I think Mary can just keep her little lamb.

Leave a Reply

