I Can’t Belive It’s Not Mashed Potatoes

11 Aug

Some thoughts on our South Beach journey, now into its 10th day.

My desire to bring the camera into the kitchen is not so strong these days.  I’m not yet on friendly terms with these recipes.  I don’t know what to expect from them – will they misbehave?  So I’m more focused on trying to figure them out.  Hopefully as we stumble across ones that become favorites, I’ll be more gung-ho to capture the moments.

Also, all the prep that goes into getting ahead of the curve absolutely wrecks my kitchen.  I prefer a somewhat orderly approach to cooking.  Instead, my weekend cooking days have seen stacks and stacks of dishes on every available horizontal surface.  By the time I get all the week’s “snacks” prepped, it’s time to start fixing an actual meal.  And then all those dishes have to get cleaned up, and oh look, time to start pulling things out for dinner.  It’s a weary cycle right now.  My little dishwasher has gotten more use in the last ten days than ever before, sometimes running twice a day (but it is a really teeny tiny dishwasher).

I’m a wee bit tired of the egg thing.  No matter how you cook ’em, what you add to ’em, they’re still eggs.  And they’re the primary focus of breakfast.  For ten days so far.  I’m thinking that the eggs and I may take a nice long break once we’re able to vary our breakfast items.

Carbs, I miss you.  I really do.  I can’t wait to bite into a toasted piece of something this weekend.  But please tell mashed potatoes that they might not be invited back into the house.  You’d be surprised how something as unpotatoish as caulifower can fool you into thinking you’re having mashed potatoes. Really.  Don’t believe me, try it and see.

Not Mashed Potatoes

Cauliflower (1 head)

1 tsp (or so) Fat Free Half and Half (in the interest of full disclosure, I do not use fat free half and half)

1 oz I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray (what is 1 oz?  I don’t know.  I just give a few sprays and then adjust according to taste)

Cut cauliflower into florets and cook (steam, microwave, boil) until tender. Transfer cooked cauliflower to food processor and pulse until chunky smooth (you may need to break larger florets up with a fork to get a good consistency).  Do no overprocess or you will have runny cauliflower puree, and that’s nothing like mashed potatoes.  Add half and half and butter spray and pulse to combine.  Add salt to taste and serve hot.

4 Responses to “I Can’t Belive It’s Not Mashed Potatoes”

  1. missmobtown 20 August 2008 at 1:49 pm #

    Fat free half and half — an abomination if ever there was one!

    The cauliflower recipe looks great! And conveniently, cauliflowers are weighing in a 3lbs at the local farmer’s market round these parts these days.

  2. pmf1852 20 August 2008 at 3:10 pm #

    It really is good. Of course it would be awesome with half and half and real butter.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Foolin’ « Exit 51 - Washington Boulevard - 2 March 2009

    […] really, what’s on your plate has no resemblance to what you tell yourself it is.  Like those faux mashed potatoes that we love so much at our house.  Cauliflower has nothing remotely in common with potatoes.  […]

  2. Foolin’ « Bon Appetit Hon - 9 October 2009

    […] really, what’s on your plate has no resemblance to what you tell yourself it is.  Like those faux mashed potatoes that we love so much at our house.  Cauliflower has nothing remotely in common with potatoes.  […]

Leave a Reply

