The Kindness of Strangers

19 Apr

Blanche DuBois may have always depended on the kindness of strangers but I find that often it takes me by surprise.

Yesterday, after collecting SFC from the Armory and loading his gear into the car, we stopped off for a bite to eat. Let me backtrack a bit…Elkton, where is Armory is located, is a pretty average small town. The sense of community though, can be quite surprising. Total strangers came out to both the send off and welcome home ceremonies just because. Sadly, that’s not something that I would expect here in the city.

So as I said, we stopped for lunch before heading down I-95. We were seated, placed our order, and were enjoying some of that fine Cracker Barrel fare. Halfway through lunch, the server came over to see if there was anything we needed. It was then that we learned that one of the other diners had paid our bill.

That one moment, with that one gesture, the power of giving with no expectation of a return, left me utterly speechless. Even now, all I can say is thank you.

Leave a Reply

