Measure Twice, Cut Once

4 Oct

Wednesday was a busy day at 2158.

The tub guy showed up bright and early. Back when the shower tile was being installed, there was a little accident and the tub was chipped. Instead of just letting a professional fix it, the installer tried to cover it up. He might be skilled with tile but he sucked at tub repair. So the contractor had a porcelain guy lined up to make it all better. Since we were going to the trouble of reglazing one part of the tub when the whole thing really needed it, and since I wouldn’t be able to use the tub for two days either way, I arranged for the entire tub to be resurfaced.

As tub guy was getting to work, tile guy arrived to start installing ceramic tile in the kitchen and dining room. He apologized repeatedly for the damage to the tub…but honestly, I was more annoyed that tile guy’s installer tried to cover it up than I was that the damage happened in the first place. It’s construction; things happen, and if that was the biggest ‘uh-oh’ that I run into with the renovation, then I’m feeling pretty good.

Poor tile guy, he’s a really tall fellow and our house has some low clearances. All of the floor tile, about 14 boxes of 18 inch ceramic tiles, was down in the basement. So he had to bend himself up and down the stairs lugging about 60 pounds of tile each trip. He totally earned his money yesterday.

As I’m getting ready to head out and leave guys to do their things, tile guy asks me what pattern I wanted. Um, the one that covers the floor? I dunno. I’ve seen some beautiful tile layouts, but we didn’t go with a fancy floor so it never occurred to me that there may be pattern options for us. I must have had the deer in the headlights look on my face because he explained that it would be just as easy to do a simple running bond pattern (like brickwork) as it would be to do a traditional square layout. Sounds good to me.

And then he hits me with the whammy…how much tile do you have? I pull out my folder and between our calculations he figures that I am one box short when you look at floor area, breakage, overage, etc. Not really what I wanted to hear. While the tile wasn’t some custom ordered, eight week lead time, has to be shipped from Italy product, it wasn’t quite off the shelf at Home Depot either. Luckily, he was able to source it and could have it in a day. Good enough, put it on the bill.

Fast forward 12 hours. When I got home, the fumes from the tub resurfacing were wicked from the moment I opened the door. Poor Shadow, I hope he spent the day down in the basement because I know there’s no way breathing that was good for him. I’m sure tub guy had a mask of some sort, too bad I didn’t have one for kitty.

So at the end of the day, my bathroom looked like this:

And my tile floor looked like this:

And wouldn’t you know it, I didn’t see where I was short on tile. In fact, there was one full tile left over. So either tile guy worked magic with what I had on hand or he found a way to get that extra box yesterday. Talk about getting lucky.

One Response to “Measure Twice, Cut Once”

  1. missmobtown 4 October 2007 at 5:54 pm #

    it looks really pretty! it will all seem worthwhile in the end.

Leave a Reply

