Exchange Rate

21 Sep

So while all that work was getting underway at my house, I was living large in Toronto. The bathroom in my hotel room was bigger than my bedroom. Ok, maybe not but it wasn’t off by much. And actually it was probably about the same size as my kitchen. How sad.

The point of the trip was to catch part of the Toronto International Film Festival. We had tickets to eight movies in three days. That equals a lot of time spent in theaters which happen to be spread out across the city. Between being in the movies themselves, and getting from one theater to another, there wasn’t much free time to explore the city. In the end, the last movie was sacrificed in the name of tourism.

Highlights of the festival included:

  • Rails and Ties – Kevin Bacon, Marcia Gay Harden. Drama. Worth the price of admission. Bring a tissue.
  • Then She Found Me – Helen Hunt, Colin Firth, Bette Middler, Matthew Broderick. Chick flick, dramady.
  • Married Life – Pierce Brosnan, Chris Cooper, Patricia Clarkson, Rachel McAdams. IMDB say drama but I think it’s more of a dark comedy.
  • Death Defying Acts – Guy Pierce, Catherine Zeta Jones. Not sure what box this fits into…maybe romantic drama?
  • The Girl in the Park – Sigourney Weaver, Kate Bosworth. Drama.

And then I wasted about five hours of my life to these:

  • Margot at the Wedding – Nicole Kidman, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Jack Black.
  • Romulus My Father – Eric Bana.

Who knows, maybe these last two will be indy/arthouse hits or maybe I’m just not good at getting abstract symbolism. All I know is that I didn’t get them.

In what was probably the best spontaneous moment of the trip, we managed to get VIP Club Level tickets to the Orioles/Blue Jays game from a scalper. Who cares if you’re paying $7 for a 12 oz beer when you’ve got seats like that?

Leave a Reply

